Announcement by Vicar

The Vicar made this announcement on 22nd January 2017:

I have decided to retire in July of this year. I am now 66 and have been either a full time student or in work since I was 19.  Here at All Saints’ I am now well into my 6th year. I feel that I have built what I felt called to build – in particular in our worship, in our outreach to the community, and in our ministry team. I now sense that God is calling me to move on; to whatever ministry He might have in mind for me and to devote more time to family and friends.

I cannot begin to thank the parish for all that you have done for me and Liz. We feel so much a part of the family here and it has been a very hard decision to make. Liz and I are planning to move to the city of Canterbury.

My last service will be the Dedication Festival Parish Eucharist on July 9th. Six years and two days after my institution.

My Mum, Win, will be staying in Orpington for the time being, at her own wish. So she will continue to be the pianist for several groups here!

We have an excellent team to run the church during the interregnum (the period between my departure and the arrival of a new Vicar sometime in 2018), not least a very able curate.
There are all sorts of details to which we will attend before I leave, but rest assured that All Saints’ will always be in good hands.